Can I blog every day for a month?

Standard

Well, to be honest, probably not.

Today marks the start of two events that are pretty popular in my circle of imaginary internet friends (IIFs). The first is NaNoWriMo, which stands for National Novel Writing Month. Many members of my online book club use this month to work on their novels, setting goals to write a certain number of words every day and then setting up a reward structure for themselves. If you were to ask if I will be participating in NaNoWriMo, my response would be, well, “Hahahahahahahahahahahahaha!” I used to fancy myself a good writer when I was in school, but my talents ran more toward English papers and then research papers. I can write an awesome letter. I do a great job writing minutes to meetings. However, a novel writer I am not. I am at a loss for new, interesting, compelling plot ideas. I will just keep reading all the amazing books that are coming out all the time instead.

Anyway, the second event this month, which is one I am going to attempt, is NaBloPoMo, which stands for National Blog Posting Month. In NaBloPoMo, you set as a goal a daily post on your blog. So here I am on November 1, on my blog, writing a post that should be the start of 30 days of posts. I have never had any success stringing together a month of blog posts, but since I am working on staying accountable in my health and fitness journey, I figured the blog would be a good place to get my thoughts down and discuss my continued progress toward (A) losing weight and (B) becoming a runner. I would LOVE to end this year weighing 200 pounds (or even less!), and I know that I will have to work hard to get there, as I seem to lose weight at a glacial pace. Anyway, I feel like my blog can be one of the tools that I will use to meet with some success with this goal.

I did go to the gym this morning to do my run on the treadmill. I actually felt great for the entire time I worked out, and I did intervals of one minute of running (at a 5 MPH pace) and two minutes of walking (at a 4 MPH pace). I book-ended the intervals with a three minute warm-up and a seven minute cool-down, for a total of 40 minutes on the treadmill. Regis and Kelly were on the TV (and the closed captioning was on), so I had a bit of entertainment, which was nice. I usually read while I am working on on the elliptical or even when I am walking on the treadmill, but I haven’t started attempting that while running. I may eventually go the audiobook route, as I can imagine that I will hit that place where boredom sets in and I start calling the treadmill the “dreamill,” but for now, everything in that arena is fine.

I am starting to think about creating my own program for increasing my running intervals instead of following the one from Runner’s World, as I think that the key to my success so far has been the longer walking intervals that this program has in the beginning. Two minutes gives me plenty of time to recover and rejuvenate, whereas the 1.5 minute walking intervals on C25K left me regularly feeling like I was going to die or fly off the back of the treadmill. I plan to continue this week doing 1:2 minute intervals, and then I think next week I may try 1.5:2 minute intervals. I would then follow up with 2:2 minute intervals the third week before trying some shorter walking intervals, probably a 2:1 minute run:walk structure. I felt awesome during all ten running intervals today, and I want to continue feeling awesome so that I continue wanting to run. At the end of four weeks, I would like to be running longer than I walk, so this plan would work out perfectly in that respect.

Tonight is my Weight Watchers meeting and weigh-in, and I am not sure how it is going to go. My mom’s birthday was last week, and I also enjoyed dinner out before the Indigo Girls concert, and although I got back on track by Friday, I am thinking I might be up a bit on the scale tonight. I am definitely up on my scale at home, but I am no longer sure how trustworthy my home scale is because it has been all over the place lately. I don’t weigh myself much during the week between meetings, but I do step on the scale on Mondays and Tuesdays just to kind of set myself up for my weigh-in at my meeting, and I am starting to question its accuracy. The only weigh-in I count is the one at my meeting, but I like to kind of know ahead of time if it’s going to go well or not. I should probably just stay off the scale at home, but I am very Type A, so I like to have as much information as possible. Anyway, this week holds no special events, so no matter what the scale says tonight, I know that I have the tools to make next week an awesome one, and I will just keep on keeping on!

Make it a great day, everyone!

One response »

Leave a Reply

