Early Riser

Standard

On days that I work, I get up at 4:30 AM to get up and ready and out the door by about 5:45 AM for my 45 minute commute to work. I sometimes extend the commute by stopping for gas or groceries (no crowds!) on my way to work, but for the most part, I am in the car by myself (now in the dark) for about 45 minutes three mornings per week. I love this time to myself to finish waking up and listen to some music and just ease into my day. I don’t, however, love getting up at 4:30!

I have always been an early riser, and I remember that when my grandparents used to visit when I was little, I used to like to get up early with my “Poppa.” I continued to be a morning person throughout school and early adulthood, although my mornings used to start closer to 6AM. Now, it’s not unusual for me to be awake by 5 or 5:30AM, even on my days off! Once I am awake, if my brain has started working, I can’t just lay in bed. Often, I do my best reading or DVR-watching or web-surfing at this time of day…the early hours before the rest of the world is really up.

Of course, the flipside is that I am tired really early in the evenings, which is why I was asleep by 8:30PM last night. Oops! I got in bed to watch a movie, and suddenly it was (early) morning. Oh, well, I got my eight hours of sleep, at least!

Make it a great day, everyone!

2 responses »

  1. I just found your blog from Kelly’s Korner link list…I am an early riser just like you are! I have also found out some other things we have in common…I would love to lose weight and weigh less than 200 pounds someday soon and I would love to become a runner as well! My poor blog is SO neglected but I am hoping to fix that this weekend…look forward to following you and your blog! Keep up your amazing job!!

Leave a Reply

