Fall back…

Standard

Overnight, the clock changed, and now, I am sitting here at what used to be 6:00am, typing out a blog post before I head out to work! When you work the weekend day shift rotation, like I do, you always are working for the time change, and you always look forward to the end of Daylight Savings Time because it gives you an extra hour to sleep between your Saturday and Sunday shifts. Or in my case, it gave me an extra hour to sit up reading, which is not something I usually take the time to do during the weekend. When Daylight Savings Time begins in the spring and I lose an hour of my night, I come home and go right to bed because I already sleep only six to seven hours per night on the weekend, and losing that hour makes that even worse.

When you work night shift on the weekend, you prefer the beginning of Daylight Savings Time in the spring because you actually lose an hour, but you are awake and at work during that time, so you really lose that hour of work. It’s a little weird in both cases to get the babies back on the right schedule in the NICU (we feed and care for most babies every three hours, around the clock), but it’s nice to be looking at the clock and having it suddenly be an hour later. For the end of Daylight Savings Time, the night shifters have to live that hour over again, which makes for a long night. Therefore, I expect to relieve some nurses who are really ready to go home this morning!

Whether you are in a place that changed the clocks back last night or not, I hope that you enjoyed every hour of your day and are having a great weekend. Make it a great day, everyone!

Leave a Reply

