Tales from the scale…among other things.

Standard

Yesterday, as you probably know, was election day. The location where my Weight Watchers meeting is held is a polling place, so the regular meeting held there was cancelled. When I called the Weight Watchers office to confirm this, she told me that I would not be charged for this week, since they had to cancel. My immediate reply was, “Oh, no, I will go up to Stroudsburg,” (Stroudsburg is where my local WW Center is). There was no way I was going to go an entire extra week without weighing myself, and since I am on hiatus from my home scale, I decided to attend a different meeting. It was not my usual leader, and it was a much smaller meeting than I am used to, but it was a meeting, and there was a weigh in, and those were the important things.

I lost 0.6 pounds this week, and although I tried not to be, I was a little let down by that number. I did not go over in points this week, I exercised, I tracked everything, I got in my Good Health Guidelines, I drank plenty of fluids…and I lost 0.6 pounds. Weight Watchers is designed to help you lose 0.5 to 2 pounds per week if you are true to the program, and I feel right into that range. Anyway, I am over the disappointment and moving forward.

On a completely different note, I read several blogs whose authors are on a trip to Ecuador this week with a group from Compassion International, which is a Christian organization that leads a sponsorship program for children in impoverished nations. I have been reading these blogs (Big Mama, BooMama, and Kelly’s Korner) for quite a while, and I have read of other trips they have taken with Compassion. This morning, at the top of my Google Reader were posts by Sophie and Melanie about their first day in Ecuador. Reading these posts brought tears to my eyes as I imagined these women going to Ecuador to serve these children who have so very little while I sit here in my heated house, watching my flat screen TV, and eating my fancy pancakes and fresh fruit for breakfast, before heading out to the gym and then to my parents’ house to enjoy lunch with my mom and dinner out with my sister. It was sort of a “slap in the face” kind of moment for me.

I do give money to a variety of not-for-profit groups, and I donate my extra clothing to the Goodwill, and I give food to food drives when I come across them, but for some reason, I thought I could not afford to make a monthly commitment to a child through Compassion’s sponsorship program. It’s $38 per month, people. Last week, I spent $95 at Target in one fell swoop, and not everything I bought there was a necessity. Methinks my priorities might be a little skewed.

I signed up this morning to sponsor a little boy in Ecuador, through the same center that Kelly, Sophie, and Melanie are visiting, and I am so excited to get his information and start sending letters to him. $38 for me is not even the cost of a tank of gas. But for him and his family, it’s an opportunity to better their lives and get access to the things they need to survive. I am so thankful that these three bloggers are in Ecuador right now, changing these children’s lives. I know that they also changed mine.

Make it a great day, everyone!

One response »

  1. Oh man, if I lose less than a pound I feel disappointed every time. I do find, however, that if I lose a small amount but keep up all the good choices, then I lose a pretty big amount the following week, so my average loss is still closer to 2lbs a week…

Leave a Reply

