Thankful…

Standard

A lot of bloggers have been doing a 30 Days of Thanksgiving type theme this month, but I am a procrastinator, as well as a clear dropout from NaBloPoMo (oops…), but that doesn’t mean I don’t have plenty to be thankful for. In fact, except for the fact that I would not turn down a large lottery win, things here in my world are pretty darn good. During the day-to-day, it is easy to forget about all the good things we have and focus on the bad parts of our day, but in reality, I am very blessed.

This has been, for reasons I won’t go into, a challenging year in my family. However, we have come out the other side, and it looks like we are in the clear. I am so grateful for the gift of my good health, but I am also so thankful to work at a hospital that is staffed by gifted medical professionals who have really been an important part of our last six months. Suffice to say I have a new appreciation for the healthcare process from the view of a family member, and while I am always proud to work for the hospital I work for, I gained a new appreciation and sense of pride when I was on another side of the table.

I am thankful for my job career and my amazing coworkers and especially for my weekend peeps (those would be the people who work the weekend program with me). We all had interesting things going on this year, and the sense of sisterhood and camaraderie I have with these women really made it much easier to get through the day-to-day at work. Being a NICU nurse means that some days are amazingly calm and other days are days that you would not wish on your worst enemy, and my coworkers are there to celebrate with each other and our patient families on the good days and hunker down and work hard and mourn together on the really bad. I could also text my weekend peeps at any time with good OR bad news and get instant responses at almost any hour of the day. When you work in a high stress environment like I do, you really come to rely on your coworkers, and I don’t know what I would do without them. We have also had some challenges at work that I will again not go into, but I am also grateful for our medical team, who have had to work really long, hard hours to back up the nurses in the unit. We are lucky to have them as well!

I am thankful to be able to call so many people my friends, whether they are friends from high school who I see still regularly (or talk to regularly on Facebook), friends from childhood who I talk to on occasion, friends from the internet who I have not met in real life, or friends from college who I keep in touch with via the internet. All of these people hold an important place in my heart, and when I stop to count my friends (not really…it’s not like there is a tally board somewhere, but you get the gist), I realize how fortunate I am.

And finally, I am thankful for my family. It has been a roller coaster of a year, but tomorrow night, when we sit down to dinner (after I get out of work), I will sit at a table surrounded by my parents, my sister, my grandmother, and my husband, and I will thank God for giving me these specific people to go through the day-to-day with. Whether I am spending a day at Disney World with my people or just a day on the couch, I am happy to have them be the place where I belong. And that’s what Thanksgiving is all about.

Make it a great day, everyone!

Leave a Reply

