The frustrating, followed by the promising…

Standard

Apparently, my head has not been all that together recently because I just, in going over my various bills, discovered that I missed two payments this month, one for my student loan and one for a credit card. I was able to transfer money from my savings to my checking account to cover them, but it is still frustrating to do that, especially when I am a total type-A-spreadsheet-budgeter type person. However, the transition from my 2011 spreadsheet to my 2012 spreadsheet apparently messed with my head, and there you go. The important thing is that I fixed it and won’t let it happen again.

In other (yet still budget-related) news, this is the end of the first week of the first two-week paycheck period of the new year, and I have been doing the envelope method of budgeting my grocery and spending money for a week now. So far, it is really working well, and I am confident I will be able to continue this without a problem (barring any HUGE unexpected expenses). I withdrew $100 for my grocery spending, and I withdrew $40 to add to $50 I already had in my wallet that was going to go toward spending money. At the end of this first week, my grocery envelope is empty (although I have $100 to add to it tomorrow, as my total grocery budget for two weeks is $200), and my spending money envelope has around $10 in it (and again, I will be adding $100 to it tomorrow for the second week of the paycheck period).

My plans for that $100 involve a purchase at the Thirty-One party I am attending tomorrow night, my bowling league cost on Friday, lunch out on Friday, and my Weight Watchers meeting on Tuesday. I thought the Thirty-One purchase would come from the money I spent this week, but then I realized that Thursday marked the start of week two, so I will be including it there. I expect to spend about $40 at the party, about $10 at bowling, roughly $20 at lunch (probably less, but I want to plan a little high), and $13 at Weight Watchers, for a total of $83, which gets me in under the $100 I have planned for spending money before I get paid again. It’s amazing what happens when you really plan out your spending! I went to Target yesterday and bought only things I needed, including some storage containers, makeup remover wipes, and the sparkling waters I like to drink. I perused the shoes and clothing for a bit, but nothing extra made its way into my cart. I also have not made additional stops at the grocery store and have made two of the three recipes I have planned for the week (and the third one is for Friday, which is actually in week two!) so far. I feel pretty proud of myself!

Make it a great day, everyone!

One response »

  1. Thank you so much for the sweet comment on my blog! I tried to reply to you via email, but I you have your email turned off on blogger. So I hunted you down on here!

    Have a great week, and thanks again for stopping by my little corner of the Internet!

Leave a Reply

