Winging it…

Standard

This morning, I took a cookie inspiration I read in a blog and turned it into a new and different cookie. This is totally not my thing, so I was super-excited with how they turned out! I don’t have a good name for them, so I am calling them almond, coconut, oatmeal, Craisin cookies. Bet you won’t be able to guess what’s in them!

Image

Anyway, here is the recipe:

1 cup ground almond meal/flour

1 cup shredded coconut (I used a low fat variety I get at Wegmans)

1/4 cup canola oil

1/2 t. baking soda

1/2 t. baking powder

1/3 cup sugar

1 egg

1/4 cup coconut milk

1 cup rolled oats

1/2 cup dried cranberries

Combine all ingredients. Form into 20 balls and bake at 350 degrees for 14 minutes. Allow to cool for several minutes before removing from cookie sheet and placing on cooling rack. Allow to cool thoroughly before putting into a storage container.

I plugged these into the Weight Watchers Recipe Builder and got a P+ total of 3 P+ per cookie. They are really satisfying, wheat-free, and relatively healthy, so I felt no guilt enjoying a couple of these cookies for my mid-morning snack.

I am going to be doing a lot more “winging it” in the immediate future, as I am going through a major life change. Without going into too much detail, I will just say that my husband and I have decided to divorce. We have been together for almost 12 years, and the amount of change and upheaval this is bringing about is significant. We are currently trying to wade through things in a way that causes the least amount of angst for both of us, which is really difficult. I don’t plan to discuss much about the divorce here, but I would expect to see some starting over posts once things are figured out and final.

Until then, enjoy a cookie! Make it a great day, everyone!

Leave a Reply

