Reading Year in Review

Standard

My goal was to read 50 books this year, and I am excited to report that I achieved that goal! Hooray! As in the past, I thought I would list all the books I read and then comment on some of them. Of course, I didn’t put in the dates that I read all of these books, so I am without a reference as to the order they were read in. I guess I will group them by series/author and go from there. So without further ado:

  1. Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher
  2. One Summer by David Baldacci
  3. A Year on Ladybug Farm by Donna Ball
  4. Mirror Image by Sandra Brown
  5. Bring Me Home for Christmas by Robyn Carr
  6. Hidden Summit by Robyn Carr
  7. Redwood Bend by Robyn Carr
  8. Sunrise Point by Robyn Carr
  9. My Kind of Christmas by Robyn Carr
  10. Reason to Breathe by Rebecca Donovan
  11. Barely Breathing by Rebecca Donovan
  12. Diet Rehab: 28 Days to Finally Stop Craving the Foods that Make You Fat by Dr. Mike Dow
  13. Porch Lights by Dorothea Benton Frank
  14. The Silent Girl by Tess Gerritsen
  15. Last to Die by Tess Gerritsen
  16. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
  17. Somebody to Love by Kristan Higgins
  18. Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James
  19. Fifty Shades Darker by E.L. James
  20. Fifty Shades Freed by E.L. James
  21. Called: “Hello, This is Mrs. Jefferson. I Understand Your Plane is Being Hijacked.” 9:45 AM, Flight 93, September 11, 2001 by Lisa D. Jefferson
  22. 11/22/63 by Stephen King
  23. The Summer Before by Ann M. Martin
  24. Messages: Signs, Visions, and Premonitions from Loved Ones Lost on 9/11 by Bonnie McEaney
  25. An Outlaw’s Christmas by Linda Lael Miller
  26. Big Sky Country by Linda Lael Miller
  27. Big Sky Mountain by Linda Lael Miller
  28. A Baby of Her Own by Brenda Novak
  29. A Husband of Her Own by Brenda Novak
  30. A Family of Her Own by Brenda Novak
  31. A Home of Her Own by Brenda Novak
  32. Big Girls Don’t Cry by Brenda Novak
  33. The Other Woman by Brenda Novak
  34. Stranger in Town by Brenda Novak
  35. Coulda Been a Cowboy by Brenda Novak
  36. The Garden of Happy Endings by Barbara O’Neal
  37. 11th Hour by James Patterson
  38. Gallaghers of Ardmore trilogy (Jewels of the SunTears of the MoonHeart of the Sea) by Nora Roberts
  39. Chasing Fire by Nora Roberts
  40. The Next Always by Nora Roberts
  41. The Last Boyfriend by Nora Roberts
  42. The Perfect Hope by Nora Roberts
  43. Feeding the Hungry Heart: The Experience of Compulsive Eating by Geneen Roth
  44. Appetites: On the Search for True Nourishment by Geneen Roth
  45. When Food is Love: Exploring the Link Between Eating and Intimacy by Geneen Roth
  46. Women, Food, and God: An Unexpected Path to Almost Everything by Geneen Roth
  47. Montana Legacy by R.C. Ryan
  48. Montana Destiny by R.C. Ryan
  49. Montana Glory by R.C. Ryan
  50. Quinn by R.C. Ryan
  51. Josh by R.C. Ryan
  52. Summer Breeze by Nancy Thayer
  53. Sea Change by Karen White
  54. Return to Willow Lake by Susan Wiggs

So there we go. The list totals 54, although the Gallaghers of Ardmore trilogy is three books in one volume, so I guess I actually read 56 books in total. My goal for 2013 will be 50 again…I feel like it’s a number that I can easily make without stressing myself out about it, which I like!

As usual, there are a lot of series on my list for the year. Some of them are series that I have been enjoying for quite a while (including the Women’s Murder Club books by James Patterson, the Virgin River series by Robyn Carr, the Willow Lake series by Susan Wiggs, and the Rizzoli & Isles series by Tess Gerritsen). I read one new series in its entirety this year, and that was the Dundee, Idaho series by Brenda Novak, which I actually discovered thanks to a comment on Susan Wiggs’s Facebook page. I started a new series (the Ladybug Farm series by Donna Ball). I also read some trilogies (Nora Roberts, E.L. Jame [cringe], R.C. Ryan), started some trilogies that I eagerly await the final book of (Rebecca Donovan, R.C. Ryan, Linda Lael Miller). And then there were some books from favorite authors like Barbara O’Neal (The Garden of Happy Endings was one of my top two books for 2012), Karen White (Sea Change was the other of my top two books), and Kristan Higgins (probably the author whose books I most look forward to).

I also read a lot of stuff about food and specifically about disordered eating. I had purchased the book Women, Food, and God over a year ago, started to read it, and then put it aside because I was unable to comprehend what it had to say. However, after reading a couple of other books by Geneen Roth, in conjunction with the work I am doing with my therapist and also the amazing experience I had doing Soul Restoration with the Brave Girls Club, I picked it up again and read it through and let it speak to me. All of Geneen Roth’s books have been so profoundly moving for me this year as I try to figure out what is going on in my head where food is concerned. I had many “ah-ha” moments this year while reading her words, and they have been so important in terms of the progress I have made in figuring out where I am headed. Food issues are so big and so hard to deal with, and I am fortunate to have the opportunity to work on mine. If you ever have felt like you struggled with compulsive eating behaviors, I encourage you to pick up one of these books (I started with When Food is Love and found it life-changing). 

I also read, like I do every year, my favorite book, Mirror Image, by Sandra Brown. Ha. I just love this book so much, even though it is a romance novel (with some suspense thrown in) that isn’t even in print anymore! I had lost my copy and had to go to a used book store to find a new one, but I must have a copy of this on my book shelf at all times! I just love it so much!

I also read a couple of great YA books this year, Thirteen Reasons Why and my first John Green book, The Fault in Our Stars. I love to read these kinds of books on occasion and loved both of these!

I know there are books on that list that I am leaving out, but these are the highlights. I am looking forward to finishing up some trilogies this year, reading more from some of my favorite series, and exploring new authors. One of my favorite authors, Erica Bauermeister has a new book coming out this year, and it is already preordered so it will appear on my Nook on release day! And I am sure there are many other great books in my future!

One response »

Leave a Reply

