I am not sure what to say.

Standard

I have spent the night on the couch, sleeping off and on while watching the election returns. Multiple times, I fell asleep with the knowledge that Trump was ahead, just to fall into a dream where Hillary pulled into the lead. Each time, I woke up and was disappointed to realize that this was ACTUALLY happening. My fellow Americans were electing Donald Trump to be the 45th President of the United States. How could this be the choice “we” were making?

I sit here staring at the cursor on a mostly blank screen and don’t know what to say. I am a woman who believes in other women. I believe in fighting for equality. I am a proud member of the Human Rights Campaign. I have a Black Lives Matter magnet on the back of my car. And I am sitting here watching a card-carrying member of the “Good Old Boys” Club call on to the stage man after man after man and talking about how great they are. A quick shout-out to his female family members, and then a parade of old white guys…

He says he is going to be going to work immediately for the American people. But which American people? Does he mean only the ones that “look” like him? How about women? Members of the LGBTQIA+ community? Those with darker skin than he has? People who were born outside of this country? Those who have sought refuge within our borders?

I feel like we have failed those who have come before us in this fight for equality. I am concerned for what tomorrow will bring.

 

Leave a Reply

